Year of Running 2014

year_of_running_2014

I’ve linked up with Miss Zippy to share a brief overview of my year as a new runner for 2014!!!

wpid-wp-1419285069088.jpeg

Best Race Experience

I ran my first race this year, the Bed Stuy Alive 10K in October.  It was an incredible experience.  I spent most of the summer running alone. It became a form of active meditation and therapy for me.  Running in a large group was very different. I felt stronger and ran faster than ever.  It brought out my personal best and even made me competitive as well. I will always cherish how great it felt to sprint across the finish line.

Best Run

At the beginning of the summer, I decided during my commute home from work to randomly go for a run.  I hadn’t done so in years and really didn’t know what to expect.  It was a life changing moment.  My form was definitely off and it took a minute to control my breathing. However, once I entered my zone I felt amazing.  I became completely carefree and it was the highlight of my day. I wrote in depth about this experience in my first post.

 

Best New Piece of Gear  

I love my Lululemon tights and hoodie that I purchased in the spring.  At the time, I planned to wear them while working out in the gym.  I would soon discover that I sweat way more during my runs.  Even in the cold, these items keep my skin dry and warm. They are definitely part of my running staples.

Best Piece of Running Advice I Received

Learn to listen to your body.  Knowing when to rest, when to keep going or when your body has had enough isn’t easy.  It takes time to become familiar with your limits and to know what your body can handle.

unnamed (1)

Most Inspirational Runner

Since I was a little girl, I was and am still inspired by Flo Jo.  She embodied everything I aspired to be.  She had beauty, style and grace yet she ran like a gazelle.  It is her legacy and the many African American female runners that came before and after her, that continues to inspire me daily.

If I could sum up my year in a couple of words, what would they be?

I turned my dreams into plans.

Leave a Reply

