Running Down Memory Lane

I decided to celebrate my Gratitude Day (aka Thanksgiving) by doing what I love most, I went for a run.

It was pretty chilly and drizzling here in Brooklyn. As I stepped out of my apt, I paused to question was this doable considering the weather. My desire to get in a good run prevailed.

As soon as I started, I knew I made the right choice. My body heat increased quickly and I was off to a warm start.

I began taking in my surroundings. People were beginning to arrive at the homes of loved ones. I smelled sweet potatoe pies baking and candied yams in the air and it made me feel nostalgic.

I started thinking about holiday dinners spent with my grandparents as a child. It was a beautiful trip, both down memory lane and the one I was actually experiencing on my run.

Leave a Reply

